The MLB All Star Game

By Tajhir Roberts

Hi, my name is Tajhir Roberts. I’m going to talk about the MLB All-Star Game. The National League All Stars took on their rivals from the American League on a nice night at Petco Park, the home field of the San Diego Padres.

The All Star game has been a yearly event in baseball since 1933. Coming into Tuesday’s game, the National League held a small 43-41 advantage, with two ties over the American League. After the 4-2 win on Tuesday, the American League closed the gap to 43-42. Since 1997, the American League has dominated its rival with a record of 16-3-1.

Even though the AL won the game, the NL scored in the first inning on a home run by Kris Bryant, who plays for the Chicago Cubs. The AL would not be losing for long as Eric Hosmer tied the game in the 2nd inning with a home run of his own and then Salvador Perez, who is also on the Kansas City Royals hit a two-run home run off of former teammate Johnny Cueto to give the AL a 3-1 lead.

Hosmer brought in another run to give the AL a 4-1 lead in the 3rd inning and the pitching for the AL pretty much shut the door from there. The NL made it 4-2 in the 4th inning on a hit by Marcell Ozuna from the Miami Marlins.

Eric Hosmer finished the game with two hits and three RBI and was named the game’s MVP. David Ortiz from the Boston Red Sox did not get a hit in what was the final All Star Game appearance of his long career.

Home Run Derby

The Home Run Derby was held the night before at Petco Park and Giancarlo Stanton from the Miami Marlins stole the show. Stanton had a total of 61 home runs to win! He hit 24 home runs in the first round to beat Robinson Cano from the Seattle Mariners. In the second round, he faced Mark Trumbo from the Baltimore Orioles and won with 17. He was able to hit one of the balls 497 feet!

In the final round he went up against Todd Frazier from the Chicago White Sox. Frazier won the Derby last year in Cincinnati and is from New Jersey!

Stanton hit 20 home runs in the final round and beat Frazier’s 13 to win the Derby.